I need your help: Which scale should I collect ? - Wings900 Discussion Forums Wings900 - Model News

Go Back   Wings900 Discussion Forums > Wings900 Model Terminal > 1:500 Scale Discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 02-21-2021, 04:29 PM   #1
Puddle Jumper

Collector787 is flying under the radar
I need your help: Which scale should I collect ?

Hi guys,

I have been collecting model airplanes for about six years. I started with Herpa 1: 500 and built up a relatively large collection here. Now the prices at Herpa have become more and more expensive and the details have not really increased. So I started collecting 1: 400 and 1: 200. I already have some models here too.

I would like to focus on one or two scales. Here in Germany it is of course easiest to collect Herpa, as I don't live far from the main office (about 2-3 hours by car). I love these models too. Unfortunately, I think it's a shame that the details are becoming less and less and the prices have risen so much compared to my early years. My fear is that at some point the scale will completely die out and the models will no longer be worth anything, or only little. As with 1: 600, where the planes often only cost a few euros.
1: 400 would be more future-proof here, also in terms of innovations, but many aircraft are not as easy to get here in Germany as in the USA or other countries.
1: 200 is also available from Herpa (1: 400 of course also, but very little) which is an advantage.
I would like to limit myself to 1: 500 and 1: 200, or do you think 1: 400 and 1: 200 would be better?
I am most interested in Asian airlines and especially India and European short-haul routes.

What do you all mean ? Which scale / Which scales should I collect?
Collector787 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-21-2021, 11:48 PM   #2
RJ First Officer